Andrea Jane Miranda, tutor in Kennedy Town
1st Lesson Trial

1st Lesson Trial

We will contact you to organize the first Trial Lesson!

Verified Tutor

What do I enjoy most about tutoring?😁

What I enjoy the most about tutoring is seeing the transformation of students and get to the level that they wanted or even past it. I love seeing students become confident, life-long learners. I also love that through tutoring, students themselves are able to teach me many things. I also love that I get to learn more about myself through tutoring in ways that I cannot even imagine. I love that tutoring allows me to better my ways and methods of teaching through the feedback of students and even from their own ways of analysing the questions. So every lesson, it is a fulfilling learning experience for me too.

My Strengths as Tutor💪

My strengths essentially comes down to my passion to encourage students to understand instead of remembering. I believe that understanding a concept allows the student to connect different concepts with different complexities together and also allows the student to point out what concept is being tested no matter how the question is presented. I believe that understanding instead of remembering and memorising allows students to build on previous learnt knowledge and use it to leverage their current level of learning.

Most important things I can do for a student🏅

The most important thing a tutor can do for a student is not drilling the concepts or repeating theories and vocabulary. I think the most important thing is to be able to influence the student to be confident in their abilities and to always have a love of learning. Once this is achieved, I believe the workload and stress for the student and the tutor is reduced in half!

Subjects Tutored🎓

  • Cantonese tutoring
  • English Language tutoring
  • English Literature tutoring
  • Maths tutoring
  • Biology tutoring
  • Science tutoring
  • Integrated Science tutoring
  • Liberal Studies tutoring
  • Geography tutoring

Tutoring students in 👦 👧

  • p1
  • p2
  • p3
  • p4
  • p5
  • p6
  • s1
  • s2
  • s3
  • s4
  • s5
  • s6

High School Attended

Caritas Wu Cheng-chung Secondary School

University Attended

The University of Hong Kong

Academic Achievements

Secondary School Diploma

About Me

Hi! I am Andrea Lagarde. It is pronounced as La-guard and it's a French surname! I figured I would need to add that since many people ask me about my surname. I am currently a year 4 nursing student at the University of Hong Kong. Throughout my university life, I have joined several activities such as being part of the executive committee of the French Society and being appointed ambassador of different groups and departments! I loved learning English when I was very little since it allowed me to express my self using words but I also love Science since it allows me me to understand myself, others and the world better! I am not a very sporty person, but I do love getting and remaining active. I usually dance and go for runs!


I have tutored both privately and for a tutor company within these 3 years. I have tutored English and Biology. I have done extensive tutoring for DSE Biology students and helped them prepare for their upcoming exams. I have also done some voluntary teaching for new immigrants that would like to prepare more before entering a mainstream school.

What I can Tutor

Preschool, Kindergarten, Primary, Junior Secondary, DSE

Languages in which I can give lessons


Services I Offer

Online tutoring, Home tutoring, Library, Local venue