Chun Kiu Poon, tutor in Mong Kok
1st Lesson Trial

1st Lesson Trial

We will contact you to organize the first Trial Lesson!

What do I enjoy most about tutoring?

Personally, being able to teach students is a gift. It is a great opportunity for me to be able to improve my teaching skills to share knowledge, and helping students learn is very worthwhile. To me, being able to help many different students improve their skills and knowledge is a big achievement – as I am skilled in particular areas, tutoring is a perfect way for me to positively change the lives of others.

My Strengths as Tutor

My biggest advantage as a tutor is that I am able to use multiple methods and styles to approach the student, allowing them to learn new knowledge in interesting ways that best suit them as an individual. I can teach students with straightforward explanation, practical demonstration, creative encouragement and more – whichever method is most suitable. This allows students to be comfortable, engaged and excited to learn.

Most important things I can do for a student

Our responsibility is to teach them everything they need to succeed, as well as more skills and knowledge that may help them in the future. Through the teaching process, we should inspire our students’ attitudes on learning and guide them to achieve with their own mind set dedicated to learning. Furthermore, we should also show students that while results are important, the whole process of learning and self-improvement is just as important.

Subjects Tutored

  • Cantonese tutoring
  • Mandarin tutoring
  • English Language tutoring
  • Chinese Literature tutoring
  • English Literature tutoring
  • Maths tutoring
  • Extended Maths tutoring
  • Social Sciences tutoring
  • Music tutoring

Tutoring students in

  • p1
  • p2
  • p3
  • p4
  • p5
  • p6
  • s1
  • s2
  • s3
  • s4
  • s5
  • s6

High School Attended

Diosesan Boy's School, Fraser Coast Anglican College

University Attended

Queensland University of Technology

Academic Achievements

Bachelor Degree

About Me

Hello, I am CK Poon. I have just completed a Bachelor of Music degree from QUT in Australia. As a tutor, teaching in a repetitive way is not my style. Instead, I like to use different types of methods to allow the student to understand and gain new knowledge in an innovative way so they can learn in a stress-free environment. For example, I like to encourage learning through creativity, experimentation and exploration of new concepts, which allows students to achieve highly and feel responsible for their success. Having tutored 18 students for more than a year while using different teaching methods and communication styles to suit each student has given me a solid experience of teaching. As a tutor, my goal would be to affect each of my students and inspire them to see different perspectives throughout life; not only in the subjects they are studying, but also teaching them to examine many concepts critically, and view things outside the box to help solve problems and achieve success. Thank you.

Experience

10+
one of the students I've tutored - Maddie, has always been having trouble reading, which I have broken down the points that she has to focus on and guide her the way on understanding small phrases at each time

What I can Tutor

Preschool, Kindergarten, Primary, Junior Secondary, IELTS

Languages in which I can give lessons

English, Cantonese Chinese, Mandarin Chinese

Services I Offer

Online tutoring, Home tutoring, Library, Local venue